U.N. Gets “Tough” on Iran

France and Germany are sponsoring a tough resolution on Iran. It calls for unspecified sanctions on Iran if it doesn’t stop making uranium. Sanctions are next to useless against a country which doesn’t care about its people and what little value they have is destroyed by not telling the sanctioned country what you’re going to do. This sanction is like a stickup where the robber, who has no gun, says give me the money or I’ll do something to you. (I exaggerate of course, this sanction isn’t nearly so fearsome to Iran’s leaders. Its more like a stickup where the robber, who has no gun, says give me the money or I’ll do something to some gerbil 10 miles away.) Russia however is angry about this war-mongering approach. They switch the demand to a request, slow down the sanctions, and forbid military action against Iran. To update the metaphor this is equivalent to a robber coming into a bank and saying “You don’t have to, but would you please give me the money. If you don’t I may do something to a gerbil a couple of years from now, but don’t worry I won’t hurt it.” Is it really that hard to say you continue developing nukes we can invade your country, and nuke your nuke.

One Response to U.N. Gets “Tough” on Iran

  1. Tobie says:

    “Nuke your nuke”? I agree with the sentiment, but I’d prefer to keep nukes out of things as much as possible. How about “bomb the living daylights out of your nuke”?

Leave a Reply

