A Pesach Story

It shouldn’t be this way. We should not rely on man to redeem us from our troubles. We have cried out and G-d has said no. We shouldn’t be pressing for Him to save us. But maybe I should start from the beginning.

He had come riding in on a white donkey. Just like all the others. I came out to protest this cruel betrayal of the people’s trust, but the charlatan did a few tricks and the yokels fell groveling (of course it didn’t impress the pros). This man with a name which doesn’t belong to our people is coming in as our savior, ha! I refuse to say this snake’s name because I do not like mentioning the Egyptian gods.

It isn’t enough that our people are being stolen by this cult leader, he is also stealing them for a new G-d, one unknown in our tradition. The G-d of the Jews is Keil Shakai, not YKVK

Why won’t the people listen to me? We have a tradition that we must be slaves for 400 years and as everyone knows only 200 or so have passed. Where is the faith in the elders which we had in previous years? Ephraim was nearly wiped out only a generation ago because of one of these, we can afford to lose one tribe, but a whole nation? How can they keep on this path. G-d has promised us we won’t be destroyed, but we don’t have to be so many, after all there are only a few thousand stars in the sky.

Just the other day I had an argument with a friend of mine, My study partner thinks he is a test from G-d to know whether we believe in his promise to redeem us, not through political means and negotiations with the Pharaoh, but through a strong hand and a mighty arm. I’m of the opinion that he was a plant form Pharaoh. I it all fits. A young prince suddenly has an epiphany and wants to rescue the slaves? It’s all the rage in the study halls as me and my fellow tribesman started to discuss who this man is. One thing is for sure: he is no Levi, such a man who marries a foreign girl and is raised in the palace is no kin of mine.

I can just see it playing out, this traitor comes in front of the magicians and outdoes their best efforts. Then after a long, drawn-out dance we get our three day holiday, he gains control of the masses, and once in a while we leave to the desert to pacify the masses. We must not follow him in this madness. G-d wants us to believe in him, not a stammering fool who ran away after murdering a man in cold blood.

Text found from speech to Sanhedrin in Egypt c. 1500 B.C.

Moses is doing exactly what I expected and this entire story is playing out as I thought it would. The magicians coming out and saying that it was the finger of G-d was a masterful performance and Pharaoh is just waiting for Moses signal before graciously giving us a few days off for a holiday. Even though we, the rightful leaders, tell them to wait for a miracle from G-d and not some magician to help them; they still defect in ever increasing droves, thousands every day.

Address to Sanhedrin, clearly later than the first speech, probably the same speaker.

They say darkness will come and that those who don’t believe will die during this plague. That scared many of my colleagues, but my faith is strong, I will not falter. The darkness is coming but, I will not fear it for G-d, Keil Shakai, is with me, I will not fear. The darkness envelopes me, I can barely move, maybe I was wrong, maybe I should have believed, maybe G-d wants….

This text found in the same chamber as the others, stops abruptly.

Notes: This story reflects my viewpoints and no others, any reference to anti-Zionist arguments is probably intentional. Regarding the Midrashim, I chose only thise which fit the narrative, I’m not really interested in debating Midrashim I don’t think are literal either.

One Response to A Pesach Story

  1. Tobie says:

    I really like the story, but I do feel like killing the protagonist is just mean. And the most propogandistic bit of the whole thing. He’s probably speaking for most of the people and it’s not an unjustified point of view. Of course, my bitter ending is having him saying “As I told you all along, Moshe has come to save us. Why did you not trust him all along- didn’t I say he was for real?” and so forth.

Leave a Reply

