A demagogue’s tour of food stamps.

The governor of Oregon is on a crusade to show how tough it is to have only food stamps by spending only $ 21 for a week on food. Reading articles about his difficult task shows that people like this have no real idea of economy. For example the article describes the governor going for the organic bananas before heading for the regular ones. In the spirit of the things I’ll try to construct a $3 a day diet with not much repetition.

1. Supplies-2 pounds of pasta and a jar of sauce
Cost         $2.50
Meals Supplied- 5
This alone is an easy way to reduce costs. I would have done more, but I thought that some variety would be better

2. Supplies- White Bread and a jar of peanut butter
Cost $3-4 (I’m purposely being pessimistic and not including the savings from using the jar of peanut butter for the next week, the same applies for the pasta sauce.)
Meals supplied 4

3. Supplies 4 Ramen Noodle Containers
Cost- Around $1.50
Meals supplied- 2
4. Supplies-Cereal and Milk
Cost- $5
Meals- 5
5. Beans and Hot dogs (chicken)
Cost- $4
Meals supplied- 3
6. Chicken and Mashed potatoes
Cost $4
Meas supplied-2

There, without much effort I constructed a diet which has nutritional value and is completely paid for. In fact within a week or two you could be adding some fruits and vegetables into your meals with the money you save on the excess supply. In fact I used pessimistic conditions for this exercise. In fact all this tells me is that people who plan properly can eat better than any other time in history for no cost. Maybe we should cut food stamps a bit?

3 Responses to A demagogue’s tour of food stamps.

  1. Rachel says:

    You’re spending way too much money. Just get one of those jumbo bags of dog food. Those things are scientifically formulated to supply the precise amount of fat, protein, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals necessary for an omnivore. If you buy the Walmart brand you can probably eat for a month for $21.

  2. mike529 says:

    Rachel I;m trying to show that for $21 you can eat like a human with a varied diet. I realize you can get nutrition, but that isn’t very convincing to people arguing for more food stamp money.

  3. Heya! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience
    and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas
    or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

